There’s nothing like showing up for work knowing I only have one more day until the weekend.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my current job.  However, this pack a day writing project has me more excited to write than I have been in a long time.  One thing that has held me back in writing more is my fear of using improper grammar/using words inappropriately.  I am throwing that fear and many others out the window for this project.  My thoughts will flow freely through the keyboard, onto the screen, and hopefully onto the screen on your end.  Grammar and spelling snobs be forewarned, there will be mistakes in this blog.  I am out to have a fun time writing this go round, and I will no longer let my creativity be hindered by my fear of being the perfect writer.  I’m going to get some Dave Baer about me and write what I feel and not worry about what I may say wrong or stir up. Thanks for your postings online, Dave, I love how you never hold back!

I was anxious to get home today because I had two boxes of sports cards waiting on my doorstep.  One was an overnight box from Topps to complete what turned out to be one of the most messed up orders I have ever received.  After a month long process to figure out what was happening, Topps finally did me right.  They sent me a total of three extra boxes of cards  on the house (a retail box of 2013 Bowman Baseball, a 2013 Topps Allen & Ginter Blaster Box, and a 2013 Bowman Platinum Blaster Box), plus about 40 Ultra Pro Magnetic Holders, all on top of giving me a $120 refund…not too shabby.  It was a very nice gesture to help me get started with my Wax Cracker project.  I am now set for the first two months product-wise  A huge thanks goes out to Brian at the Topps.com Store for getting my order taken care of and completed in full.  I hope you are reading along, Brian, and good luck with your own collecting endeavors.  You have what I consider a dream job by getting to work for a card company.

Today's mail day from Topps to correct an order gone wrong
Today’s overnighted mail day from Topps to correct an order gone wrong. Thanks for the continued help, Brian! Note the Bowman Sterling was part of my Christmas gift from Jen, and just happened to arrive today as well.

Word on the wire is Sterling More will be checking in tonight with a post on the NCAA National Football Championship Game.  I am looking forward to what Mr. More has to share on the big game with us all.  By us I am assuming somewhere out there someone is reading this. Drop me a shout out in the comment section below if you a reading along.

Enough small talk, it’s time to crack some wax!  Today’s pack is left 2, also known as the second pack down.  I am getting excited as I approach pack #4 as I am hoping to get an insert or good hit in that pack.  One day at a time though and I don’t want to upstage pack 2 for today.

Boom goes the dynamite on Day 2 of the project!  Not a big boom like a Yasiel Puig or Bryce Harper autograph, but this was a nice pack.  The cards fell as follows for today:

Base cards- Corey Hard #115, C.J. Wilson #71, CC Sabathia #5, Billy Butler #90.
Base cards- Corey Hart #115, C.J. Wilson #71, CC Sabathia #5, Billy Butler #90.
Bowman Chrome Prospects- Steven Moya #BCP53 & Luis Sardinas #BCP84 & Bowman Prospects- Byron Buxton #BP1 & Anderson Feliz #BP69
Bowman Chrome Prospects- Steven Moya #BCP53 & Luis Sardinas #BCP84 & Bowman Prospects- Byron Buxton #BP1 & Anderson Feliz #BP69
Gold Card- Felix Hernandez #93
Gold Card- Felix Hernandez #93
Bowman Prospect Challenge Code Card
Bowman Prospect Challenge Code Card

Pack 2 turned out to be a nice pack with good hits on the Byron Buxton and gold Felix Hernandez, with a now expired Bowman Prospect Challenge card to boot (please let me know if I am wrong about the challenge card being expired).  I really hope during this project I land a Buxton autograph card somewhere along the line.  So pack 2 heated it up a little bit, and I hope to keep the fire burning as I approach pack 4 on Saturday morning.

In the world of sports today, Alabama is currently in a barn burner with Oklahoma in the Sugar Bowl.  I picked Little Debby loving Nick Saban and the Crimson Tide tonight.  Any time I pick a Bob Stoops team I always get burned, so watch tonight be the night he pulls an upset with Oklahoma.  I included Alabama in my 6 bet parlay on the free sports player stock exchange I do.  In a 6 bet parlay all 6 bets have to hit or you lose the entire bet.  I put $50,000 fake ones on the line tonight.  I also need wins in the NBA from Oklahoma City, Portland, and Oklahoma City, and Belmont and Wichita State in NCAA Basketball for the bet to pay out.  In the fake money world of sports stock trading and betting I am a millionaire 7 times over.  Soon I will be able to cash out for a 50″ LED TV or $250 gift card.  My hours of wasting time with sports stats have started to pay off in a productive way.

That was quite the ramble tonight.  As I press forward I hope you all are entertained by my card project.  Any questions from the peanut gallery so far?

Until tomorrow, go crack some wax my friends!