Today is the first that I am sensing a good card will hit.  On a 12 pack stack I’m thinking in the 4-6 range I’ll crack something good.  However, with this being a 24 pack Retail Box I am not as confident as I would be if I were opening a Hobby or HTA Jumbo box.  Hobby and HTA Jumbo boxes are more expensive and offer more packs of cards in the box and/or cards in the pack.  I prefer them because you have more of a chance at hitting on some good cards, and some boxes will guarantee that you will get an autograph and/or relic card.  HTA boxes are also good if you are trying to put together the base set of cards since they offer more cards per pack.  For example, as far as autographs, the box of 2013 Bowman Sterling Baseball I am excited to open guarantees to deliver 18 autographs per box.

Time to crack into today’s wax.  Let’s see what this pack has to offer:

Base Set Cards- Ryan Zimmerman #60, Roy Halladay #102, Brett Lawrie #205, Yu Darvish #122, & Ian Kinsler #168
Base Set Cards- Ryan Zimmerman #60, Roy Halladay #102, Brett Lawrie #205, Yu Darvish #122, & Ian Kinsler #168
Bowman Chrome Prospects - Arismendy Alcantara #BCP21 & Jeremy Moore #BCP34 & Bowman Prospects Michael Snyder #BP46 & Wilfredo Rodriguez #BP58
Bowman Chrome Prospects – Arismendy Alcantara #BCP21 & Jeremy Moore #BCP34 & Bowman Prospects Michael Snyder #BP46 & Wilfredo Rodriguez #BP58
Gold Card- Cole Hamels #135
Gold Card- Cole Hamels #135

So, there was no nice insert like I was hoping for.  You win some, you lose some.  However, this pack did seem different than the ones I have already opened.  I would consider all the base cards I got to be good cards, comprised of stars and semi-stars. The Hamels gold card was a nice hit, and yet another Arismendy Alcantara card.  I’ll need to research Alcantara a little more before I can comment on him as a prospect.  Overall, a good pack day but still not the great one I am looking for.  Hang in there with me and let’s hope a really nice card hits soon.

Today is the start of the NFL Playoffs.  It feels kind of weird not having a Ravens game to get excited for today.  At least they won the Super Bowl last year. I am looking forward to seeing what Sir Ozzie Newsome drafts this year.  We should have some nice draft slots, and giving up a few of them for the Eugene Monroe acquisition has turned out well.  Now Ozzie just needs to revamp what turned out to be a terrible offensive line as a whole, and mix in some defensive picks late.

For today’s games I am taking Kansas City (-1) on the road against the Colts.  I think it will be a super close game and I won’t be shocked which way the coin falls in this one.  The late game between the Saints and Eagles is the one I am finding hard to pick.  I want to take the Saints, but the weather tells me to lean Eagles…the Saints can’t win on the road, the Eagles have a hard time winning at home…the Eagles are a Philly team so that lends to a much higher choke percentage…but I grew up an Eagles fan before the days of the Ravens…I like cheesesteaks…so there is my answer.  You can never go wrong with a good cheesesteak, so I will uncomfortably pick the ‘Igles’ in this one.

On an added note, my good friend John Von Gunten will soon be joining the Wax Cracker project.  John is an avid comic book collector with a vast collection spread over at least two houses. John brought up a great point recently by mentioning that collecting comics isn’t that far off collecting sports cards. John will be cracking some wax pages and adding  great content to the site. He’s just as much of a wise-cracking smart ass as Sterling More, so the snark train will be adding one more passenger. I am overjoyed to have JVG and Sterling More taking this writing journey with me.  Welcome to Wax Cracker, John!

Jen, John, and I on the field at Petco Park in San Diego.
Jen, John, and I on the field at Petco Park in San Diego. JVG is sporting the O’s magic in an away park.

It’s the weekend, support your local card store, Walmart, eBay store, or wherever you get your smack.  Enjoy cracking some wax today and let me know what you hit on!

Casey