There’s nothing like living on the west coast when it comes to watching sports.  This morning consisted of me rolling out of bed half an hour before kickoff of the Chargers v. Bengals game.  I am still trying to get used to NFL games kicking off at 10:00 AM our time.  I can now watch all the way through the end of the national games on Sunday and Monday nights and still have time to do errands after the games are over.  Sunday has now turned into a day filled with sports as compared to waiting for the 1:00 PM kickoffs back on the east coast.

To get my picks out there before it gets too far into the game, I am going with Jen’s instincts and picking our new hometown Chargers.  It should be a good game and it would be interesting to see how the city reacts if the Chargers can pull this one out.  I have not encountered a strong and excited Chargers fan base since we moved out here, like I am used to with Eagles, Ravens, and or any other team back home.  I can understand why the Chargers have to battle a blackout every home game, but hopefully that is starting to change with the success of this year’s team. To tag on, I wish the Chargers would switch back to the powder blue uniforms for good. Go Bolts!

In the late game I am picking the Packers.  I joined an office pool when I worked at John Deere Landscapes and I drew the Packers and the Redskins.  If the Packers win the Super Bowl, I win the entire pot.  I hope Aaron Rodgers gets as hot as a playoff goalie in the NHL.

There’s nothing like cracking some wax with a playoff game in the background.  Time to rip into today’s pack:

Base Set Cards- Henry Rodriguez RC #44, Carlos Santana #151, Manny Machado RC #215, & Yadier Molina #106
Base Set Cards- Henry Rodriguez RC #44, Carlos Santana #151, Manny Machado RC #215, & Yadier Molina #106
Bowman Chrome Prospects- Michael Snyder #BCP46 & Wilfredo Rodriguez #BCP58 & Bowman Prospects- Gregory Polanco #BP79, Clayton Blackburn #BP98, & Jonathan Griffin #BP2
Bowman Chrome Prospects- Michael Snyder #BCP46 & Wilfredo Rodriguez #BCP58 & Bowman Prospects- Gregory Polanco #BP79, Clayton Blackburn #BP98, & Jonathan Griffin #BP2
Gold Card- Cheating Piece of Crap that has a less of a right to be involved in baseball than Pete Rose
Gold Card- Cheating Piece of Crap that has less of a right to be involved in baseball than Pete Rose.
As soon as I get a Machado RC I slab it. I hoard Machado and D. Bundy cards.
As soon as I get a Machado RC I slab it. I hoard Machado and D. Bundy cards.

This pack heated up a little more from yesterday’s pack with the Machado rookie card hit. I am happy the cards fell the way they did today so I can address something that has bothered me this offseason.  I absolutely hate the fact that Machado is so close to Alex Rodriguez.  With all the dark clouds hanging over A-Fraud stemming from the steroid controversy, A-Fraud is the last person I’d like the see Machado using as a mentor.  It’s not up to me to dictate who anyone hangs out with, but I don’t like the bond that has formed between the two.  A-Fraud once had a close relationship with Cal Ripken, Jr.  I wish Machado would skip the A-Fraud lineage and go directly to the Iron Man himself for mentorship.

Machado with A-Fraud and brother-in-law Yonder Alonso recently at a Jay Z concert. As an Orioles fan this is worrisome.
Machado with A-Fraud and brother-in-law Yonder Alonso recently at a Jay Z concert. As an Orioles fan this is worrisome. (Tweeted by A-Fraud)

I don’t want to end this post on a bad note. So if you’re reading along, please chime in and let me know what you’re thinking.  Did anyone get any good card hits this weekend?  I hope to hear from you if you are reading along daily!

Until later, go crack some wax and have a great day!