Today starts Week 2 of my Pack A Day project.  I have opened a few good pack so far, but nothing has knocked my socks off yet.  I have a feeling that there is a good card hiding in one of the unopened packs of this box.  I’m going to keep up the good mojo and hope that feeling pays off with a nice card.

To take some of the tediousness out of the project I plan to continue on with how I posted the pictures from yesterday.  If you are following along and prefer that I post every card number, please let me know and I can go back to doing it that way.  Enough out of me, let’s crack some wax!  Here are the cards from today’s pack:

2014-01-08 17.43.29 2014-01-08 17.44.21 2014-01-08 17.45.14 2014-01-08 17.45.45

I was excited to get a Shelby Miller Rookie Card today.  I have followed Miller’s progression through the Cardinals Minor League system.  I had the chance to steal him off the waiver wire in my fantasy league two years ago, but I botched the transaction and missed out on a fine player that I later missed out on in our prospect draft.  The base set cards and gold card were all good hits today.  I study MILB prospects, but I can’t say I know anything about the prospects I got today.  I’ll go with another MEH rating on this pack, mainly based on my building anxiousness to get a good card.

I think I came up with a good idea for the project over lunch today.  While scarfing down 5 pieces of chicken from a local El Pollo Loco restaurant, I thought it would be cool to put together a box All Star team.  The team would highlight the nice cards that I have pulled from each box.  I think this will be a nice wrap up to summarize what the box produced.

As the days go by I am noticing more clicks on my blog.  I want to thank those who have stopped in and also ask for you to help spread the word about my project.  If you like what I am working on I would very much appreciate you sharing my blog with fellow sports fans  or card collectors.

It was a busy day for me so I am a little disconnected from the happenings in the sports world tonight. To avoid talking about something I am not up to date with, how about we talk about the temperatures in the midwest and on the east coast.  I hope everyone back in MD and PA is staying warm.  I have already started to count the days until pitchers and catchers report, so hang in there guys, spring is just around the corner.

As we head into the weekend I will try to add some longer posts.  Before I leave you for the night I want to give you an update on John Von Gunten joining the Wax Cracker project.  John recently purchased the following box of comic cards from Upper Deck:

JVG Box

John will be cracking some comic wax for us all soon.  I am excited to add the comic genre to Wax Cracker.  Once again, John, thank you for coming up with such a great sister idea to my sports card project.  John’s first post will be uploaded in the coming days.

Have a great night everyone!  Do me a favor tonight…crack some wax and post your best hit from the night!