Hockey, baseball, football, and wrestling abound!  I was overjoyed to see my first shipment from Steel City Collectibles sitting on my doorstep when I got home from a very long day today.  It was the very thing I needed after a stressful day.  There’s nothing better than grabbing a beer, turning the record player on, and cracking some wax to let all the stressors of the day flow out and dissipate into thin air.  Tonight’s cracking is going to feel good.  So I have my Lost Abbey Inferno Ale poured and I am zeroing on on today’s pack.  Thanks to the ever so generous Sean at Steel City I have the packs below to pick from:

2014-01-31 19.39.14
Thanks to Sean at Steel City Collectibles for his contribution to the Wax Cracker Project. Thanks for taking a chance on me and the project I am pouring so much time in to!

What a way to start a Friday night, right?  I don’t know if I have ever cracked a pack of NHL cards and it has been since the late 80s that I have opened a pack of wrestling cards.  Sean sent me a great range of packs and I really appreciate him sending me a card care package.  I am looking forward to cracking into some of these babies over the next few weeks.  If you see a pack you want me to open please make a post below.  And don’t forget, I will be cracking the Bowman Sterling Football this Sunday for the Super Bowl.  Make sure to make waxcracker.com a part of your Super Bowl festivities.

Alright,  I’m getting an itchy trigger finger.  I can’t wait to crack what I think is my first ever NHL pack.  It has been years since I have seen an O-Pee-Chee pack.  So tonight I will be opening a NHL pack from 2011-12.  Below is what I hit on tonight:

2014-01-31 19.42.24
It looks like 4 Base Cards, a Base Card Insert, and a #’d 82/100 Milan Hejduk

It was a nice pack of NHL cards to crack for the first time.  The cards are kind of throw backy with a cardboard feel and a less glossy appearance.  I feel like there should be a stick of stale bubble gum stuck to the back of one of the cards.  I am happy to see O-Pee-Chee is still around.  I’ll have to do some research, but as of this pack it looks like Upper Deck has the rights to the line.

Once again, thanks go out to Steel City Collectibles for make tonight’s wax cracking possible.  Make sure to check out there site and grab some wax from them.  Sean and the rest of the team will take great care of you, and that’s a Wax Cracker guarantee.

So what did you all think of Patrick’s post?  I really enjoyed it and I am looking forward to his post tomorrow morning when he cracks Pack 2 from the 2014 Topps Baseball Series 1 Hobby Box.  How crazy is it that in his first pack he pulled a San Diego Chicken card?

Sorry tonight’s post came so late EST.  As with everything else, sometimes the happenings of everyday life throws a wrench in the gears and you just have to ride with it. Have a great Friday night everyone and go crack some wax!

Oh, and as an added bonus you have to check out this video if you are a Muppet or NFL fan:  Miss Piggy and Kermit the Frog Video