I woke up this morning and decided to crack some more of the packs Steel City sent me.  Pack 47 for today will be the 2013 Panini Father’s Day Pack and I will be cracking some bonus packs that include 2012 Topps Opening Day, 2008 Upper Deck Spectrum, 2007 Upper Deck Future Stars, and 2007-08 Upper Deck NBA Basketball Artifacts.  I hope you all enjoy the extra packs from Sean at Steel City Collectibles.  Maybe I should talk with Sean and make Sundays Steel City Sundays on Wax Cracker.

Below you will find the two cards I hit in the Father’s Day Pack.  I think this is the nicest Ryan Zimmerman I hit yet and landing a Alex Ovechkin during the Olympics is a sweet hit as well. I think I actually like the mix of the major sports in one pack.  It’s something I would have to be in the mood to crack being that I tend to stay loyal to cracking baseball packs.  For more information on Father’s Day Packs check out the following article on The Cardboard Connection: http://www.cardboardconnection.com/other-sets/2013-panini-fathers-day-trading-cards.

2014-02-16 11.23.09
2013 Panini Father’s Day, Pack 47.

Bonus Packs:2014-02-16 11.18.32Above are the hits from the 2012 Opening Day pack.  This nicest hit was the Chipper Jones Blue #’d 1219/2012, seen below.  It seems like the Opening Day packs go for pretty cheap after the season starts.  If you ever feel the itch to crack something and you have slightly more than pocket lint to spend, Opening Day will help you quench your wax cracking thirst.  I love that this line includes mascot cards.2014-02-16 11.19.25

I am getting better at using WordPress to produce my blog.  I finally figured out how to make my photos larger.  Over the next few weeks I hope to work on the presentation of the site.  I tried to post a poll last night, but it seems to be floating in Outer Space because I don’t see it anywhere on the main page.  Wordpress claims that the poll is active, though.  Can you all see it?

Below are the hits from 2008 Upper Deck Spectrum Baseball.  Seeing Griffey in a Reds uniform still doesn’t feel right.  I wish he would have stayed in a Mariners uniform for his entire career, but I can understand why he wanted to be a Red.  I’ll take this time as an Orioles fan to say that I am happy Derek Jeter will be hanging them up at the end of this season.  As a baseball fan, though, the game will be losing a good one.

2014-02-16 11.20.502014-02-16 11.22.16I got a really nice Hanley Ramirez hit in the 2007 Upper Deck Future Stars Baseball Pack.  I liked the Markakis hit as well.  Seeing Orioles cards right now is kind of depressing.  You would think as pitchers and catchers report that this would be an exciting time to be an O’s fan.  However, in yet another offseason when the O’s did absolutely nothing to improve the team, I am left being full of contempt for Orioles owner Peter Angelos. How are you feeling after your favorite son, Brian Roberts, said he has always dreamed of wearing a Yankees uniform, Angelos?  Do you wish you would have pulled the trigger on the multiple trade offers that would have landed the O’s some great packages for Roberts before he missed tons of games over multiple seasons?  The Orioles are a touchy subject for me right now, can you tell?

Let’s get back to the cards.  Below are the crackings from the 2007-08 Upper Deck NBA Artifacts Pack, of which an artifact didn’t hit.  This pack reminded me of the glory days when it felt like Upper Deck dominated the market.  Does anybody want this 7 year old code card for a chance to save on your order? 🙂
2014-02-16 11.25.25

I hope you all enjoyed the extra packs supplied by Steel City Collectibles today.  Make sure to head over to their site and check out the sweet weekend deals Sean is offering right now.  I will let you all know what I ordered from Steel City soon.

Look for a couple posts from JVG this week as he sorts through a large box of comic cards he found.  Also, Patrick will be checking in with some hockey cards.

You know the deal, have a great weekend and go crack some wax!