I decided to continue with some throwback cards today.  I picked up a pack of 1989 Fleer Baseball from the Ugliest Cards of All Time Section.  Opening this pack reminded me that I like the cards of today way more than retro packs.  However, when I was a kid I spent all of my money on cards from this era of cards.

As you can see below, the wax wrapper didn’t leave much to the imagination back then.  This pack would take first place in a wet t-shirt contest.

2014-02-23 10.43.18

Below are some of the better hits from the pack including a Mike Schmidt, Will Clark, and a very young David Cone.  I can’t go without mentioning I hit for a derpy looking Zane Smith as well.  Danny Jackson looks like a young Pete Rose.2014-02-23 16.22.23 Here are some of the who the heck were these guys hits:2014-02-23 16.23.50The sticker insert for this was was a Blue Jay card.  I have a whole box of these sticker cards stored away from childhood collection.
2014-02-23 16.24.29

 

Overall, this was a NAH pack and I will give that grade to most retro packs I open.  If you are out to crack for sentimental value and be transported back in time, these 75 cent packs are for you.

Stay tuned as we get closer to March Madness.  I am trying to put together a Bracket Challenge that may have some prizes.

Take care and have a great night everyone.  Until tomorrow go crack some wax!