Welcome to Day 55 of the Wax Cracker Project.  I had the itch to open a pack of 2013 Bowman Baseball tonight.  On a day when MLB decided to take out the play at the plate, for the most part, I hope I hit for a good card today harder than Pete Rose taking out a catcher.

Let’s get to today’s pack:

2014-02-24 18.41.32
The base cards were good with hits on Carlos Gonzalez and Dustin Pedroia.

Overall, this turned out to be a YEAH pack with nice base cards and the following hits:

2014-02-24 18.42.11
Bowman Prospects with a nice hit on a Alex Meyer Chrome.

The autograph hit below bothers me.  I don’t really support the current grading system for cards.  Most of the grading handles what is out of collectors hands, centering, surface, etc.  In this case the player decided to sign justified left.  Should and would this get held against me if I decided to have this card grade?  Granted, most graded cards of well-known veterans and prospects, but I am just using this card as an example.  I support a system that judges sharpness of corners, looks to see if there is wrinkles on the card from being bent, and other not so stringent examinations.  How do you all feel about how cards are currently graded?

2014-02-24 18.42.50
Orlando Calixte autograph.

I am counting down the hours until mail day on Wednesday.  I will have a special pack to crack on either Wednesday or Thursday evening.  Make sure to check back to see what I crack.

Until tomorrow, go crack some wax!