There are few things better in sports card collecting than opening a pack, holding the fresh cards in your hands, and feeling a cold metal card resting against your fingers.  That my friends is what it feels like to pull a 1/1 printing plate.  The heart begins to race as you wonder what player will be on the printing plate.  Will it be a Magenta, Yellow, or one of many other color printing plates, all of which are worth different values?

I was happy to hit on a well-known player in Matt Kemp.  He is an five tool player that has had a hard time staying healthy the last few seasons.  I’m hoping he can put things together and stay on the field this year.  As far as worth, what do you think this 1/1 printing plate is worth?  For those of you that may not know what a printing plate is, it’s what is used to print the cards from.  Companies have begun including the original printing plates  in sets, and it’s one of the coolest inserts you can hit on.  What has still alluded me is a signed printing plates…one of these days, Alice!

2014-02-27 20.16.37
Matt Kemp 1/1 Magenta Printing Plate!!!

I love the 1 of 1 at the bottom!

2014-02-27 20.16.56
I can only hope Kemp gets his career back on track after becoming injury prone of late.

I got some great young players in the Base Card hits.  I still can’t believe the Royals traded Myers.  Carpenter is an on-base machine that I wish was setting the table for my Orioles this year.  I wanted to pick up Segura from waivers last year in fantasy baseball, but I waited too long and I lost out to another manager.  I credit that bobble as one of the key reasons I fell short in the championship race.  Cole is on my list of pitcher to have a huge break out season this year.  Go Buccos!

2014-02-27 20.19.44
The Young Guns: Myers, Cole, Segura, Carpenter, & Castro Base Cards.

The veteran hits weren’t too shabby.  Overall, this was a SUPER YEAH pack.  I am really enjoying cracking Turkey Red right now.  What do you all think of the product?  Do you want me to keep cracking more this week? @John_Wallwork, I came through with a Giants hit for you!

2014-02-27 20.20.44
The vets.

My bad, I forgot to post the auto hit earlier.  Here it is:

2014-02-27 20.21.21
Magill auto #’d 165/499
2014-02-27 20.21.50
I like the old timey look on the back of the cards. Watch out for valuable blank backs.

Two boxes in of Turkey Red and I am feeling pretty good.  I am looking forward to seeing what other hits come from this purchase.  If I have failed to mention previously, Turkey Red is only available through Topps directly, and the product is currently sold out.  I think I remember Topps making more available after the first round sold out last year.  Keep an eye on their site to see if that happens again this year.

I am off to work on uploading JVG’s next comic post that will go live on Wax Cracker tomorrow morning.  Also, be on the lookout for an earlier post from me tomorrow for Pack 59.  I want to try to make it up to you guys for my recent late posts.

Take care and have a great night.  Go crack some rare wax for me!