I made one of my biggest sports memorabilia acquisitions today at Petco Park during the Tigers v. Padres game.  The Padres have a new kiosk this season where they are selling game used and authenticated memorabilia from games at Petco.  The Miguel Cabrera ball caught my eye when I was on the way to finding my seat.  After struggling with the decision for a few innings on whether to pull the string on the purchase, I decided to go through with it.

I had a great talk with the gentleman that works at the kiosk and I will be going back to Petco soon to interview him and look over all of the memorabilia they have for sale.  I am looking forward to looking through what they have.

Below is my big purchase from the game.  This ball was fouled off by Triple Crown winner Miguel Cabrera in the 7th inning of last nights game against the Padres.  It has also been authenticated by MLB:

2014-04-13 16.57.18
MLB Authenticated Miguel Cabrera foul ball.

I was tempted to pull the trigger on an authenticated Justin Verlander ball as well, but I talked myself out of it.  The ball was from a double that Verlander gave up last night.

Below are some more pictures from my day at Petco Park:

2014-04-13 12.01.16
Broken and game used bats from games at Petco Park. They wanted $549 for a Jedd Gyorko bat to give you a reference point on pricing.
2014-04-13 12.38.38
The calm before the game.
2014-04-13 13.04.49
Rob Jones finishing his 5,000 mile cross country bike ride into Petco Park. Jones is a wounded veteran and is missing both of his legs. He rode a specially designed bike from Maine to California over the last 10 months to raise money for charities to support our troops. Jones can be seen on the warning track on the first base side of this picture as he completes his long journey.
2014-04-13 13.06.13
Rob Jones throwing out the first pitch just after completing his 5,000 mile bike ride at home plate at Petco Park.
2014-04-13 13.05.02
The first Military Sunday of the season at Petco Park. Every state was represented on the field.
2014-04-13 12.57.29
Gary Sinise, also known as Lieutenant Dan from Forrest Gump, was on hand today to honor some of the troops via his foundation.
2014-04-13 12.54.25
The first Military Sunday of the season. The Padres wear their camo uniforms for Sunday home games.
2014-04-13 13.29.05
Miguel Cabrera at bat facing Tyson Ross with Victor Martinez on deck, both players on my Cuban Defectors fantasy baseball team in the Sportsman Challenge.

It was a great day for a ballgame.  I was excited to see Max Scherzer take the mound for the Tigers today.  He had 10 strikeouts but ended up giving up 4 runs.  I also have Scherzer on my Cuban Defectors team.  The Padres took this 5-1.