I have been anxiously awaiting the arrival of my shipment from Steel City Collectibles.  I ordered a 2014 Bowman Baseball Hobby Box, a 2013 Panini Prizm Retail Box for only $19.95, and a 2013 Panini Elite Extra Edition Hobby Box in pursuit of a Clint Frazier card (which has been elusive to me so far).  Along with my order, Sean from Steel City included the first box for this weekend’s Steel City Collectibles Saturday.  I will be cracking the 2013-14 Titanium box all in the same day as Steel City further solidifies its partnership with the Wax Cracker Project.  Huge props go out to Sean and Russ from Steell City for being so supportive of my project!

Here’s a sneak peak at what I’ll be cracking this Saturday for the first Steel City Saturday here on Wax Cracker:

2014-05-05 17.43.16
2013-13 Panini Titanium Hockey just in time for the NHL Playoffs
2014-05-05 17.44.15
This product is packed full of inserts.

I am really excited to crack the Titanium box after all the hype Patrick Fortin (@PFO76) has given the product.  I hope I can hit on one of the sweater cards he shared in his last post.  By the way, if you haven’t read Patrick’s last post for Wax Cracker, make sure to go back and enjoy it.  He wrote a damn fine article and I am extremely pleased to showcase his writing on my site.  I have a hard time believing English is your second language, Patrick!

Tonight’s pack comes from a product line I have been waiting to get my hands on, 2014 Bowman Baseball, which I like almost as much as the Bowman Prospect line.  2014 Bowman boasts such players as Jose Abreu and Kris Bryant, two of the hotter names in collecting right now.  Unfortunately, the Holy Grail card from this line has already been cracked, the 1/1 Jose Abreu Superfractor seen below:

2014-Bowman-Baseball-Prospects-Chrome-Autographs-Superfractor-Jose-Abreu
The Jose Abreu 1/1 Superfractor, rumored to be worth a cool $15,000!

With my hopes dashed at hitting this huge card above, I am setting out in search of another big hit.  Let’s hope this box holds a great hit!

2014-05-05 18.05.09
Fresh on the Wax Cracker shelf.

It’s always a great sign to crack the first pack and see an Orioles card starring back at me:

2014-05-05 18.06.52
Peek-a-boo, I see an Adam Jones.

And the pack cracked as follows:

2014-05-05 18.10.19
A Mike Trout in the first pack:)

Overall, with my excitement for this product, and the Kelly, Verlander, Trout and Fielder hits leave me feeling a YEAH pack was just cracked.  I may be overhyping this product, but I am in a good mood tonight and this rating reflects that.

I am looking forward to where the rest of the packs lead this week.  I am excited for what lies ahead as I continue to crack everything from this order from Steel City Collectibles.  Stay tuned, and keep on cracking along side me!

steelcitycoupon.jpg