It has been a whirlwind week plus of baseball related activities for me, and through it all my insatiable thirst for more of the game persists.  The happenings of the last few days have renewed my passion for keeping the Wax Cracker Project alive and well.  Don’t get me wrong, my dedication to WaxCracker.com has never been stronger, but the stories I have heard and the people I have met of late have further solidified my vision that my site is creating a nice little niche for itself.

Case 1:

Blarney Stone
The scene: The Blarney Stone Pub in San Diego’s Gaslamp District at 502 5th Ave.

I was recently having a freshly poured Guinness at my new favorite watering hole, the Blarney Stone Pub, in San Diego’s Gaslamp District.  The pub of late reopened after going through renovations and I just so happened to stroll in on a whim one Sunday afternoon after getting a haircut and straight shave downtown.  Fast forward through a few days and a few more brews and I found myself catching a glimpse of the Mets v. Cardinals game while at the bar.  The game was in the bottom of the 6th and I immediately thought, “They’re going to put Josh in tonight!” Josh being my cousin Josh Edgin, LHP NY Mets, who you will know as the player I featured and interviewed during Spring Training.  Sure enough, Josh was soon on the mound and I couldn’t help but share my elation with my fellow pub-goers being this is the first time I have gotten to see Josh pitch live this season.  Josh got through a squeaky clean inning and looked sharp.  This is but one example of some of the special baseball moments I have experienced at the Blarney Stone over the last 10+ days.

2014-06-16 19.51.02
Wax Cracker favorite Josh Edgin takes the mound in St. Louis! As evidenced from my new favorite seat at the Blarney Stone Pub in San Diego’s Gaslamp.
2014-06-16 19.49.06
I don’t think I have been prouder as a baseball fan. Josh digging in preparing to bring the heat.

I think one story from the Blarney Stone will suffice for tonight.  I can’t give them all away at once.  On to a double pack crack we go tonight.

Tonight I cracked open 2 packs of 2013 Panini USA Baseball Champions, and the hits where as follows:

2014-06-19 20.23.39
Pack 169: A mixture of nice base hits.
2014-06-19 20.24.12
Pack 169 Hit: A Kolten Wong jersey relic, making this a YEAH pack for sure.
20140619_202500
Pack 170.
20140619_202610
Pack 170 hit.

I’m not sure if I have ever hit for two relic cards in back to back packs. As always, I continue to enjoy the Panini sports card product lines.  Stop back tomorrow as I recount some of my recent baseball stories and wax cracking hits!  Have a great night, everyone!