I know Wax Cracker has seemed like a different site of late, but hasn’t it been great?  I am extremely pleased with how Chris Shannon’s pieces have worked out recently.  This week alone Chris blogged live from the State College Spikes press box during their playoff game and even scored a pregame interview with Spikes Manager Oliver Marmol, all firsts for Wax Cracker. Your continued coverage of minor league baseball, Chris, will be a huge addition to Wax Cracker.  Many of my readers have an insatiable appetite for up and coming baseball prospects.

While Chris has been hard at work adding new and exciting content to Wax Cracker, I have working on setting up the upcoming wax crackings for the site.  I have been talking a lot with Sean from Steel City Collectibles lately and we think we have a pretty good month to come set up for you all.  Sean already has a shipment on the way to me of 2014 Panini Certified Football, 2014 Topps Pro Debut Baseball, and some Press Pass Gameday.  We are talking about doing a giveaway with the Press Pass Gameday and may even have a promo for you all involving the product. When we launch the Press Pass promo you will really be giving Wax Cracker a helping hand by purchasing some of the product.  In supporting and giving your business to Steel City Collectibles you all are supporting Wax Cracker as well.  Sean and I have built a great working relationship and I couldn’t be happier to have his backing with the Wax Cracker project.  I want to thank everyone that has used the WAXCRACKER5OFF coupon at SCC so far!  Stay tuned this week as I will have more to announce about the Press Pass promo..

Also, don’t forget to enter Steel City Collectibles 2014 NFL Weekly Pick’em.  SCC is giving away some great prizes so don’t miss out.  Sean asked me to pass along a heads up on a few of the rules. The deadline to enter each week is Sunday at noon and the Thursday night games and future Saturday games are not included in the pick em.  So if you’re ready to take me on to see if you can out pick me each week, head on over to the SCC NFL Pick’em!

To keep up with the momentum being set by Steel City Collectibles on Wax Cracker, I’m trying to figure out a contest to give away an authentic signed Josh Edgin ball as well that I got from Josh while he was in town with the Mets playing the Padres recently.  I’ll decide soon on how I plan to give the ball away.  I’m thinking about having you all respond to one of my posts with your name, and then I will put all the names received into a randomizer and pick the winner from there.

Now that I have the business end of things taken care of, let’s get into cracking some 2014 Panini Prizm Baseball.  I haven’t had much to crack lately as I am still settling in from my recent move.  I went out and got a Blaster Box of Panini Prizm to hold me over until Sean’s shipment from SCC gets here.  Over the next few weeks I will go into full catch up mode to get the pack of the day synchronized with the day of the year.  Until then, here are tonight’s hits:

2014-09-06 13.26.56
2014 Panini Prizm Baseball
2014-09-06 13.28.04
The goods.
2014-09-06 13.43.21
Pack 223, giving you the good stuff right off the bat! I love the Jose Abreu Camo Refractor Rookie Card hit. It’s now one of my favorite in my modern collection.

I want to thank you all for your continued support and sticking with Wax Cracker while I have taken some time away to get things straightened out with my personal life.  I am back to cracking and the happiness that collecting sports cards has brought me in the past is starting to return.  I have a renewed drive to make this site the absolute best it can be and I want to thank Josh Edgin, Andy Waplinger, Chris Shannon, and Dinur Blum for helping me get back to writing for Wax Cracker.  I would be remiss if I didn’t thank the rest of my newfound crews as well.  Many thanks go out to Patrick, Lauren, Patty, Timmy, Mike, Kym, Tracy and Irwin Berger, the Chapman grandparents (especially for putting up with 5 o’clock Fridays), and Dana for including me in their group of lifelong friends.  Your recent hospitality and kindness means so much to me! I also can’t forget Shawn Driggers, John Von Gunten, and Patrick Fortin for their writing for Wax Cracker and continued support behind the scenes. Special thanks go out to Rachel Dabbs, Jessica Muchow, Jessica Robershaw, and Pat Forde for helping me get to know and feel comfortable in San Diego…everyone at Steel City Collectibles for believing in what I am trying to accomplish with WaxCracker.com…my coworkers David, Chris, Juan, Andrew, Brenda, Garth, Amanda, and Craig for helping me keep the pedal to the metal professionally… DJ Miller for being one hell of a knowledgable baseball and sports fan to talk with…thanks to all of you for the support you have given over the last year as I settle in on my own and make San Diego home! Oh and one last person, who just happens to be responsible for this all because he got me back into collecting baseball cards, Scott Forbes, thanks for everything, buddy!  Many thanks for letting me ramble on and on about what I am working on for the site.  You all know you can tell me to be quiet at any time:)